Fix memory leak in traverse_commit_list
authorShawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Fri, 9 Nov 2007 11:06:10 +0000 (06:06 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 10 Nov 2007 09:52:54 +0000 (01:52 -0800)
If we were listing objects too then the objects were buffered in an
array only reachable from a stack allocated structure.  When this
function returns that array would be leaked as nobody would have
a reference to it anymore.

Historically this hasn't been a problem as the primary user of
traverse_commit_list() (the noble git-rev-list) would terminate
as soon as the function was finished, thus allowing the operating
system to cleanup memory.  However we have been leaking this data
in git-pack-objects ever since that program learned how to run the
revision listing internally, rather than relying on reading object
names from git-rev-list.

To better facilitate reuse of traverse_commit_list during other
builtin tools (such as git-fetch) we shouldn't leak temporary memory
like this and instead we need to clean up properly after ourselves.

Signed-off-by: Shawn O. Pearce <spearce@spearce.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
list-objects.c

index e5c88c2..4ef58e7 100644 (file)
@@ -170,4 +170,11 @@ void traverse_commit_list(struct rev_info *revs,
        }
        for (i = 0; i < objects.nr; i++)
                show_object(&objects.objects[i]);
+       free(objects.objects);
+       if (revs->pending.nr) {
+               free(revs->pending.objects);
+               revs->pending.nr = 0;
+               revs->pending.alloc = 0;
+               revs->pending.objects = NULL;
+       }
 }