git-commit: use printf '%s\n' instead of echo on user-supplied strings
authorJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sat, 26 May 2007 05:00:54 +0000 (22:00 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sat, 26 May 2007 07:23:23 +0000 (00:23 -0700)
This fixes the same issue git-am had, which was fixed by Jeff
King in the previous commit.  Cleverly enough, this commit's log
message is a good test case at the same time.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
git-commit.sh

index 292cf96..a1884fe 100755 (executable)
@@ -376,12 +376,12 @@ t,)
                        rm -f "$TMP_INDEX"
                fi || exit
 
-               echo "$commit_only" |
+               printf '%s\n' "$commit_only" |
                GIT_INDEX_FILE="$TMP_INDEX" \
                git-update-index --add --remove --stdin &&
 
                save_index &&
-               echo "$commit_only" |
+               printf '%s\n' "$commit_only" |
                (
                        GIT_INDEX_FILE="$NEXT_INDEX"
                        export GIT_INDEX_FILE
@@ -432,7 +432,7 @@ fi
 
 if test "$log_message" != ''
 then
-       echo "$log_message"
+       printf '%s\n' "$log_message"
 elif test "$logfile" != ""
 then
        if test "$logfile" = -
@@ -475,7 +475,7 @@ if test -f "$GIT_DIR/MERGE_HEAD" && test -z "$no_edit"; then
        echo "#"
        echo "# It looks like you may be committing a MERGE."
        echo "# If this is not correct, please remove the file"
-       echo "# $GIT_DIR/MERGE_HEAD"
+       printf '%s\n' "#        $GIT_DIR/MERGE_HEAD"
        echo "# and try again"
        echo "#"
 fi >>"$GIT_DIR"/COMMIT_EDITMSG