daemon: send more error messages to the syslog
authorJohannes Sixt <j.sixt@viscovery.net>
Mon, 25 Feb 2008 13:25:20 +0000 (14:25 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 27 Feb 2008 22:47:36 +0000 (14:47 -0800)
There were a number of die() calls before the syslog was opened; hence,
these error messages would have been sent to /dev/null in detached mode.
Now we install the daemon-specific die routine before any error message is
generated so that these messages go to the syslog.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Sixt <johannes.sixt@telecom.at>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
daemon.c

index 41a60af..dd0177f 100644 (file)
--- a/daemon.c
+++ b/daemon.c
@@ -1149,6 +1149,11 @@ int main(int argc, char **argv)
                usage(daemon_usage);
        }
 
+       if (log_syslog) {
+               openlog("git-daemon", 0, LOG_DAEMON);
+               set_die_routine(daemon_die);
+       }
+
        if (inetd_mode && (group_name || user_name))
                die("--user and --group are incompatible with --inetd");
 
@@ -1176,11 +1181,6 @@ int main(int argc, char **argv)
                }
        }
 
-       if (log_syslog) {
-               openlog("git-daemon", 0, LOG_DAEMON);
-               set_die_routine(daemon_die);
-       }
-
        if (strict_paths && (!ok_paths || !*ok_paths))
                die("option --strict-paths requires a whitelist");