process_{tree,blob}: Remove useless xstrdup calls
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 10 Apr 2009 22:20:18 +0000 (15:20 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 12 Apr 2009 21:30:31 +0000 (14:30 -0700)
On Wed, 8 Apr 2009, Bj√∂rn Steinbrink wrote:
>
> The name of the processed object was duplicated for passing it to
> add_object(), but that already calls path_name, which allocates a new
> string anyway. So the memory allocated by the xstrdup calls just went
> nowhere, leaking memory.

Ack, ack.

There's another easy 5% or so for the built-in object walker: once we've
created the hash from the name, the name isn't interesting any more, and
so something trivial like this can help a bit.

Does it matter? Probably not on its own. But a few more memory saving
tricks and it might all make a difference.

Linus

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-pack-objects.c

index 84a13c7..a6adc8c 100644 (file)
@@ -1861,6 +1861,8 @@ static void show_object(struct object_array_entry *p)
        add_preferred_base_object(p->name);
        add_object_entry(p->item->sha1, p->item->type, p->name, 0);
        p->item->flags |= OBJECT_ADDED;
+       free((char *)p->name);
+       p->name = NULL;
 }
 
 static void show_edge(struct commit *commit)