Make git-add -i accept ranges like 7-
authorCiaran McCreesh <ciaran.mccreesh@googlemail.com>
Mon, 14 Jul 2008 18:29:37 +0000 (19:29 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 15 Jul 2008 14:37:00 +0000 (07:37 -0700)
git-add -i ranges expect number-number. But for the supremely lazy, typing in
that second number when selecting "from patch 7 to the end" is wasted effort.
So treat an empty second number in a range as "until the last item".

Signed-off-by: Ciaran McCreesh <ciaran.mccreesh@googlemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-add.txt
git-add--interactive.perl

index 46dd56c..3558905 100644 (file)
@@ -187,8 +187,9 @@ update::
    "Update>>".  When the prompt ends with double '>>', you can
    make more than one selection, concatenated with whitespace or
    comma.  Also you can say ranges.  E.g. "2-5 7,9" to choose
-   2,3,4,5,7,9 from the list.  You can say '*' to choose
-   everything.
+   2,3,4,5,7,9 from the list.  If the second number in a range is
+   omitted, all remaining patches are taken.  E.g. "7-" to choose
+   7,8,9 from the list.  You can say '*' to choose everything.
 +
 What you chose are then highlighted with '*',
 like this:
index 801d7c0..a6a5c52 100755 (executable)
@@ -406,9 +406,9 @@ sub list_and_choose {
                        if ($choice =~ s/^-//) {
                                $choose = 0;
                        }
-                       # A range can be specified like 5-7
-                       if ($choice =~ /^(\d+)-(\d+)$/) {
-                               ($bottom, $top) = ($1, $2);
+                       # A range can be specified like 5-7 or 5-.
+                       if ($choice =~ /^(\d+)-(\d*)$/) {
+                               ($bottom, $top) = ($1, length($2) ? $2 : 1 + @stuff);
                        }
                        elsif ($choice =~ /^\d+$/) {
                                $bottom = $top = $choice;