Improved hint on how to set identity
authorSteffen Prohaska <prohaska@zib.de>
Mon, 13 Aug 2007 22:05:50 +0000 (00:05 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 14 Aug 2007 06:34:38 +0000 (23:34 -0700)
The first thing we teach in the tutorial is to set the default
identity in $HOME/.gitconfig using "git config --global".  The
suggestion in the error message should match the order, while
hinting that per repository identity can later be configured
differently.

Signed-off-by: Steffen Prohaska <prohaska@zib.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
ident.c

diff --git a/ident.c b/ident.c
index 6612d17..9b2a852 100644 (file)
--- a/ident.c
+++ b/ident.c
@@ -185,11 +185,11 @@ static const char *env_hint =
 "\n"
 "Run\n"
 "\n"
-"  git config user.email \"you@email.com\"\n"
-"  git config user.name \"Your Name\"\n"
+"  git config --global user.email \"you@email.com\"\n"
+"  git config --global user.name \"Your Name\"\n"
 "\n"
-"To set the identity in this repository.\n"
-"Add --global to set your account\'s default\n"
+"to set your account\'s default identity.\n"
+"Omit --global to set the identity only in this repository.\n"
 "\n";
 
 const char *fmt_ident(const char *name, const char *email,