rebase -i: notice and warn if "exec $cmd" modifies the index or the working tree
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 24 Aug 2011 18:54:50 +0000 (11:54 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 26 Aug 2011 22:25:41 +0000 (15:25 -0700)
If "exec $cmd" touched the index or the working tree, and exited with
non-zero status, the code did not check and warn that there now are
uncommitted changes.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-rebase--interactive.sh

index 5c94506..94f36c2 100644 (file)
@@ -472,18 +472,24 @@ do_next () {
                git rev-parse --verify HEAD > "$state_dir"/stopped-sha
                ${SHELL:-@SHELL_PATH@} -c "$rest" # Actual execution
                status=$?
+               # Run in subshell because require_clean_work_tree can die.
+               dirty=f
+               (require_clean_work_tree "rebase" 2>/dev/null) || dirty=t
                if test "$status" -ne 0
                then
                        warn "Execution failed: $rest"
+                       test "$dirty" = f ||
+                       warn "and made changes to the index and/or the working tree"
+
                        warn "You can fix the problem, and then run"
                        warn
                        warn "  git rebase --continue"
                        warn
                        exit "$status"
-               fi
-               # Run in subshell because require_clean_work_tree can die.
-               if ! (require_clean_work_tree "rebase")
+               elif test "$dirty" = t
                then
+                       warn "Execution succeeded: $rest"
+                       warn "but left changes to the index and/or the working tree"
                        warn "Commit or stash your changes, and then run"
                        warn
                        warn "  git rebase --continue"