t7800: avoid arithmetic expansion notation
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 14 Oct 2011 18:07:26 +0000 (11:07 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 14 Oct 2011 18:11:30 +0000 (11:11 -0700)
The construct "var=$(( something ..." is interpreted by some shells as
arithmetic expansion, even when it clearly is not, e.g.

var=$((foo; bar) | baz)

Avoid the issue by giving an extra SP to help the parser, i.e.

var=$( (foo; bar) | baz )

Noticed by Michael J Gruber.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t7800-difftool.sh

index 7fc2b3a..4fb4c93 100755 (executable)
@@ -289,7 +289,7 @@ test_expect_success PERL 'setup with 2 files different' '
 '
 
 test_expect_success PERL 'say no to the first file' '
-       diff=$((echo n; echo) | git difftool -x cat branch) &&
+       diff=$( (echo n; echo) | git difftool -x cat branch ) &&
 
        echo "$diff" | stdin_contains m2 &&
        echo "$diff" | stdin_contains br2 &&
@@ -298,7 +298,7 @@ test_expect_success PERL 'say no to the first file' '
 '
 
 test_expect_success PERL 'say no to the second file' '
-       diff=$((echo; echo n) | git difftool -x cat branch) &&
+       diff=$( (echo; echo n) | git difftool -x cat branch ) &&
 
        echo "$diff" | stdin_contains master &&
        echo "$diff" | stdin_contains branch &&