pkt-line: re-'static'-ify buffer in packet_write_fmt_1()
authorMartin Ågren <martin.agren@gmail.com>
Sun, 27 Aug 2017 07:37:32 +0000 (09:37 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 6 Sep 2017 04:11:14 +0000 (13:11 +0900)
The static-ness was silently dropped in commit 70428d1a5 ("pkt-line: add
packet_write_fmt_gently()", 2016-10-16). As a result, for each call to
packet_write_fmt_1, we allocate and leak a buffer.

We could keep the strbuf non-static and instead make sure we always
release it before returning (but not before we die, so that we don't
touch errno). That would also prepare us for threaded use. But until
that needs to happen, let's just restore the static-ness so that we get
back to a situation where we (eventually) do not continuosly keep
allocating memory.

Signed-off-by: Martin Ågren <martin.agren@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
pkt-line.c

index d4b6bfe..bfee02b 100644 (file)
@@ -136,9 +136,10 @@ static void format_packet(struct strbuf *out, const char *fmt, va_list args)
 static int packet_write_fmt_1(int fd, int gently,
                              const char *fmt, va_list args)
 {
 static int packet_write_fmt_1(int fd, int gently,
                              const char *fmt, va_list args)
 {
-       struct strbuf buf = STRBUF_INIT;
+       static struct strbuf buf = STRBUF_INIT;
        ssize_t count;
 
        ssize_t count;
 
+       strbuf_reset(&buf);
        format_packet(&buf, fmt, args);
        count = write_in_full(fd, buf.buf, buf.len);
        if (count == buf.len)
        format_packet(&buf, fmt, args);
        count = write_in_full(fd, buf.buf, buf.len);
        if (count == buf.len)