Explain "Not a git repository: '.git'".
authorJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Fri, 12 Jan 2007 20:24:16 +0000 (12:24 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Fri, 12 Jan 2007 20:26:39 +0000 (12:26 -0800)
Andy Parkins noticed that the error message some "whole tree"
oriented commands emit is stated misleadingly when they refused
to run from a subdirectory.

We could probably allow some of them to work from a subdirectory
but that is a semantic change that could have unintended side
effects, so let's start at first by rewording the error message
to be easier to read without doing anything else to be safe.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
git-sh-setup.sh

index 4a02b38..57f7f77 100755 (executable)
@@ -60,7 +60,11 @@ esac
 if [ -z "$SUBDIRECTORY_OK" ]
 then
        : ${GIT_DIR=.git}
-       GIT_DIR=$(GIT_DIR="$GIT_DIR" git-rev-parse --git-dir) || exit
+       GIT_DIR=$(GIT_DIR="$GIT_DIR" git-rev-parse --git-dir) || {
+               exit=$?
+               echo >&2 "You need to run this command from the toplevel of the working tree."
+               exit $exit
+       }
 else
        GIT_DIR=$(git-rev-parse --git-dir) || exit
 fi