Doc repository-layout: Show refs/replace
authorPhilip Oakley <philipoakley@iee.org>
Sun, 21 Oct 2012 20:52:37 +0000 (21:52 +0100)
committerJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Thu, 25 Oct 2012 10:56:39 +0000 (06:56 -0400)
Signed-off-by: Philip Oakley <philipoakley@iee.org>
Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Documentation/gitrepository-layout.txt

index 5c891f1..9f62886 100644 (file)
@@ -93,6 +93,12 @@ refs/remotes/`name`::
        records tip-of-the-tree commit objects of branches copied
        from a remote repository.
 
+refs/replace/`<obj-sha1>`::
+       records the SHA1 of the object that replaces `<obj-sha1>`.
+       This is similar to info/grafts and is internally used and
+       maintained by linkgit:git-replace[1]. Such refs can be exchanged
+       between repositories while grafts are not.
+
 packed-refs::
        records the same information as refs/heads/, refs/tags/,
        and friends record in a more efficient way.  See