test-lib: simplify '--option=value' parsing
authorSZEDER Gábor <szeder@ira.uka.de>
Fri, 22 Apr 2016 20:32:21 +0000 (22:32 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 22 Apr 2016 20:55:28 +0000 (13:55 -0700)
To get the 'value' from '--option=value', test-lib.sh parses said
option running 'expr' with a regexp.  This involves a subshell, an
external process, and a lot of non-alphanumeric characters in the
regexp.

Use a much simpler POSIX-defined shell parameter expansion instead to
do the same.

Signed-off-by: SZEDER Gábor <szeder@ira.uka.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/test-lib.sh

index 0b47eb6..79afa87 100644 (file)
@@ -202,13 +202,13 @@ do
                }
                run_list=$1; shift ;;
        --run=*)
-               run_list=$(expr "z$1" : 'z[^=]*=\(.*\)'); shift ;;
+               run_list=${1#--*=}; shift ;;
        -h|--h|--he|--hel|--help)
                help=t; shift ;;
        -v|--v|--ve|--ver|--verb|--verbo|--verbos|--verbose)
                verbose=t; shift ;;
        --verbose-only=*)
-               verbose_only=$(expr "z$1" : 'z[^=]*=\(.*\)')
+               verbose_only=${1#--*=}
                shift ;;
        -q|--q|--qu|--qui|--quie|--quiet)
                # Ignore --quiet under a TAP::Harness. Saying how many tests
@@ -222,15 +222,15 @@ do
                valgrind=memcheck
                shift ;;
        --valgrind=*)
-               valgrind=$(expr "z$1" : 'z[^=]*=\(.*\)')
+               valgrind=${1#--*=}
                shift ;;
        --valgrind-only=*)
-               valgrind_only=$(expr "z$1" : 'z[^=]*=\(.*\)')
+               valgrind_only=${1#--*=}
                shift ;;
        --tee)
                shift ;; # was handled already
        --root=*)
-               root=$(expr "z$1" : 'z[^=]*=\(.*\)')
+               root=${1#--*=}
                shift ;;
        --chain-lint)
                GIT_TEST_CHAIN_LINT=1