git-ls-remote(1): document --upload-pack
authorJonas Fonseca <fonseca@diku.dk>
Fri, 25 Aug 2006 00:58:20 +0000 (02:58 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Sat, 26 Aug 2006 02:25:58 +0000 (19:25 -0700)
... and mention that '.' will list the local repo references.

Signed-off-by: Jonas Fonseca <fonseca@diku.dk>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Documentation/git-ls-remote.txt

index ae4c1a2..c8a4c5a 100644 (file)
@@ -3,16 +3,19 @@ git-ls-remote(1)
 
 NAME
 ----
-git-ls-remote - Look at references other repository has
+git-ls-remote - List references in a remote repository
 
 
 SYNOPSIS
 --------
-'git-ls-remote' [--heads] [--tags] <repository> <refs>...
+[verse]
+'git-ls-remote' [--heads] [--tags]  [-u <exec> | --upload-pack <exec>]
+             <repository> <refs>...
 
 DESCRIPTION
 -----------
-Displays the references other repository has.
+Displays references available in a remote repository along with the associated
+commit IDs.
 
 
 OPTIONS
@@ -23,9 +26,16 @@ OPTIONS
        both, references stored in refs/heads and refs/tags are
        displayed.
 
+-u <exec>, --upload-pack=<exec>::
+       Specify the full path of gitlink:git-upload-pack[1] on the remote
+       host. This allows listing references from repositories accessed via
+       SSH and where the SSH deamon does not use the PATH configured by the
+       user. Also see the '--exec' option for gitlink:git-peek-remote[1].
+
 <repository>::
        Location of the repository.  The shorthand defined in
-       $GIT_DIR/branches/ can be used.
+       $GIT_DIR/branches/ can be used. Use "." (dot) to list references in
+       the local repository.
 
 <refs>...::
        When unspecified, all references, after filtering done