Clarify fetch error for missing objects.
authorAlex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com>
Tue, 12 Dec 2006 17:34:02 +0000 (18:34 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Wed, 13 Dec 2006 01:04:40 +0000 (17:04 -0800)
Otherwise there're such things like:

    Cannot obtain needed none 9a6e87b60dbd2305c95cecce7d9d60f849a0658d
    while processing commit 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000.

which while looks weird. What is the none needed for?

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
fetch.c

diff --git a/fetch.c b/fetch.c
index c426c04..663b4b2 100644 (file)
--- a/fetch.c
+++ b/fetch.c
@@ -22,14 +22,15 @@ void pull_say(const char *fmt, const char *hex)
                fprintf(stderr, fmt, hex);
 }
 
-static void report_missing(const char *what, const unsigned char *missing)
+static void report_missing(const struct object *obj)
 {
        char missing_hex[41];
-
-       strcpy(missing_hex, sha1_to_hex(missing));;
-       fprintf(stderr,
-               "Cannot obtain needed %s %s\nwhile processing commit %s.\n",
-               what, missing_hex, sha1_to_hex(current_commit_sha1));
+       strcpy(missing_hex, sha1_to_hex(obj->sha1));;
+       fprintf(stderr, "Cannot obtain needed %s %s\n",
+               obj->type ? typename(obj->type): "object", missing_hex);
+       if (!is_null_sha1(current_commit_sha1))
+               fprintf(stderr, "while processing commit %s.\n",
+                       sha1_to_hex(current_commit_sha1));
 }
 
 static int process(struct object *obj);
@@ -177,7 +178,7 @@ static int loop(void)
                 */
                if (! (obj->flags & TO_SCAN)) {
                        if (fetch(obj->sha1)) {
-                               report_missing(typename(obj->type), obj->sha1);
+                               report_missing(obj);
                                return -1;
                        }
                }