git stash: document apply's --index switch
authorMiklos Vajna <vmiklos@frugalware.org>
Sun, 30 Sep 2007 22:30:27 +0000 (00:30 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 1 Oct 2007 08:59:29 +0000 (01:59 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-stash.txt

index 05f40cf..5723bb0 100644 (file)
@@ -63,7 +63,7 @@ show [<stash>]::
        it will accept any format known to `git-diff` (e.g., `git-stash show
        -p stash@\{1}` to view the second most recent stash in patch form).
 
-apply [<stash>]::
+apply [--index] [<stash>]::
 
        Restore the changes recorded in the stash on top of the current
        working tree state.  When no `<stash>` is given, applies the latest
@@ -71,6 +71,11 @@ apply [<stash>]::
 +
 This operation can fail with conflicts; you need to resolve them
 by hand in the working tree.
++
+If the `--index` option is used, then tries to reinstate not only the working
+tree's changes, but also the index's ones. However, this can fail, when you
+have conflicts (which are stored in the index, where you therefore can no
+longer apply the changes as they were originally).
 
 clear::
        Remove all the stashed states. Note that those states will then