submodule--helper: don't print null in 'submodule status'
authorNguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Wed, 18 Apr 2018 14:53:37 +0000 (16:53 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 18 Apr 2018 21:24:23 +0000 (06:24 +0900)
The function compute_rev_name() can return NULL sometimes (e.g. right
after 'submodule init'). The current code makes 'submodule status'
print this:

 19d97bf5af05312267c2e874ee6bcf584d9e9681 sha1collisiondetection ((null))

This ugly 'null' adds no value to the user using this command. More
importantly printf() on some platform can't handle NULL as a string
and will crash instead of printing '(null)'.

Check for this and skip printing this part (the alternative is
printing '(n/a)' or something but I think that is just noise).

Signed-off-by: Nguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Stefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/submodule--helper.c

index a4193c0..d85b29b 100644 (file)
@@ -562,8 +562,12 @@ static void print_status(unsigned int flags, char state, const char *path,
 
        printf("%c%s %s", state, oid_to_hex(oid), displaypath);
 
-       if (state == ' ' || state == '+')
-               printf(" (%s)", compute_rev_name(path, oid_to_hex(oid)));
+       if (state == ' ' || state == '+') {
+               const char *name = compute_rev_name(path, oid_to_hex(oid));
+
+               if (name)
+                       printf(" (%s)", name);
+       }
 
        printf("\n");
 }