lstat_cache(): introduce has_symlink_or_noent_leading_path() function
authorKjetil Barvik <barvik@broadpark.no>
Sun, 18 Jan 2009 15:14:51 +0000 (16:14 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 18 Jan 2009 21:54:49 +0000 (13:54 -0800)
In some cases, especially inside the unpack-trees.c file, and inside
the verify_absent() function, we can avoid some unnecessary calls to
lstat(), if the lstat_cache() function can also be told to keep track
of non-existing directories.

So we update the lstat_cache() function to handle this new fact,
introduce a new wrapper function, and the result is that we save lots
of lstat() calls for a removed directory which previously contained
lots of files, when we call this new wrapper of lstat_cache() instead
of the old one.

We do similar changes inside the unlink_entry() function, since if we
can already say that the leading directory component of a pathname
does not exist, it is not necessary to try to remove a pathname below
it!

Thanks to Junio C Hamano, Linus Torvalds and Rene Scharfe for valuable
comments to this patch!

Signed-off-by: Kjetil Barvik <barvik@broadpark.no>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>

No differences found