docs/checkout: clarify what "non-branch" means
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Mon, 13 Apr 2009 11:21:04 +0000 (07:21 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 13 Apr 2009 16:08:16 +0000 (09:08 -0700)
In the code we literally stick "refs/heads/" on the front
and see if it resolves, so that is probably the best
explanation.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-checkout.txt

index 4a1fb53..ad4b31e 100644 (file)
@@ -114,11 +114,11 @@ the conflicted merge in the specified paths.
        "merge" style, shows the original contents).
 
 <branch>::
-       Branch to checkout (when no paths are given); may be any object
-       ID that resolves to a commit.  Defaults to HEAD.
-+
-When this parameter names a non-branch (but still a valid commit object),
-your HEAD becomes 'detached'.
+       Branch to checkout; if it refers to a branch (i.e., a name that,
+       when prepended with "refs/heads/", is a valid ref), then that
+       branch is checked out. Otherwise, if it refers to a valid
+       commit, your HEAD becomes "detached" and you are no longer on
+       any branch (see below for details).
 +
 As a special case, the `"@\{-N\}"` syntax for the N-th last branch
 checks out the branch (instead of detaching).  You may also specify