Documentation/git-merge: document subtree strategy.
authorMiklos Vajna <vmiklos@frugalware.org>
Tue, 18 Mar 2008 12:26:43 +0000 (13:26 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 19 Mar 2008 08:43:02 +0000 (01:43 -0700)
There was already some documentation about subtree under
Documentation/howto but it was missing from git-merge manpage.

Signed-off-by: Miklos Vajna <vmiklos@frugalware.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/merge-strategies.txt

index 7df0266..1276f85 100644 (file)
@@ -33,3 +33,10 @@ ours::
        merge is always the current branch head.  It is meant to
        be used to supersede old development history of side
        branches.
+
+subtree::
+       This is a modified recursive strategy. When merging trees A and
+       B, if B corresponds to a subtree of A, B is first adjusted to
+       match the tree structure of A, instead of reading the trees at
+       the same level. This adjustment is also done to the common
+       ancestor tree.