Fix renaming branch without config file
authorGeert Bosch <bosch@gnat.com>
Thu, 5 Apr 2007 14:20:55 +0000 (10:20 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
Thu, 5 Apr 2007 21:53:22 +0000 (14:53 -0700)
Make git_config_rename_section return success if no config file
exists.  Otherwise, renaming a branch would abort, leaving the
repository in an inconsistent state.

[jc: test]

Signed-off-by: Geert Bosch <bosch@gnat.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
config.c
t/t3200-branch.sh

index 6479855..70d1055 100644 (file)
--- a/config.c
+++ b/config.c
@@ -916,8 +916,8 @@ int git_config_rename_section(const char *old_name, const char *new_name)
        }
 
        if (!(config_file = fopen(config_filename, "rb"))) {
-               ret = error("Could not open config file!");
-               goto out;
+               /* no config file means nothing to rename, no error */
+               goto unlock_and_out;
        }
 
        while (fgets(buf, sizeof(buf), config_file)) {
@@ -951,6 +951,7 @@ int git_config_rename_section(const char *old_name, const char *new_name)
                }
        }
        fclose(config_file);
+ unlock_and_out:
        if (close(out_fd) || commit_lock_file(lock) < 0)
                        ret = error("Cannot commit config file!");
  out:
index 9558bdb..ce2c5f4 100755 (executable)
@@ -83,6 +83,15 @@ test_expect_failure \
          git-branch r &&
          git-branch -m q r/q'
 
+mv .git/config .git/config-saved
+
+test_expect_success 'git branch -m q Q without config should succeed' '
+       git-branch -m q Q &&
+       git-branch -m Q q
+'
+
+mv .git/config-saved .git/config
+
 git-config branch.s/s.dummy Hello
 
 test_expect_success \