move setting of object->type to alloc_* functions
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Sun, 13 Jul 2014 06:41:55 +0000 (02:41 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 28 Jul 2014 17:14:33 +0000 (10:14 -0700)
commitfe24d396e1b8d2eedbc07f626af3dcd2b14e6012
tree91fb1e84826e61b7f5932abc54b1146e337f4b19
parent52604d71443315c82d3a5eb008d601daf8bad05b
move setting of object->type to alloc_* functions

The "struct object" type implements basic object
polymorphism.  Individual instances are allocated as
concrete types (or as a union type that can store any
object), and a "struct object *" can be cast into its real
type after examining its "type" enum.  This means it is
dangerous to have a type field that does not match the
allocation (e.g., setting the type field of a "struct blob"
to "OBJ_COMMIT" would mean that a reader might read past the
allocated memory).

In most of the current code this is not a problem; the first
thing we do after allocating an object is usually to set its
type field by passing it to create_object. However, the
virtual commits we create in merge-recursive.c do not ever
get their type set. This does not seem to have caused
problems in practice, though (presumably because we always
pass around a "struct commit" pointer and never even look at
the type).

We can fix this oversight and also make it harder for future
code to get it wrong by setting the type directly in the
object allocation functions.

This will also make it easier to fix problems with commit
index allocation, as we know that any object allocated by
alloc_commit_node will meet the invariant that an object
with an OBJ_COMMIT type field will have a unique index
number.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
alloc.c
blob.c
builtin/blame.c
commit.c
object.c
object.h
tag.c
tree.c