pack-objects: move 'layer' into 'struct packing_data'
authorChristian Couder <christian.couder@gmail.com>
Thu, 16 Aug 2018 06:13:13 +0000 (08:13 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 16 Aug 2018 17:56:44 +0000 (10:56 -0700)
commitfe0ac2fb7f8e87d37ef83dcee2d93901d58d8277
tree37f990bd4446b96bdb41d09a618576ae89a20b30
parent108f530385e969feab343b2b8acadeb7bb670009
pack-objects: move 'layer' into 'struct packing_data'

This reduces the size of 'struct object_entry' from 88 bytes
to 80 and therefore makes packing objects more efficient.

For example on a Linux repo with 12M objects,
`git pack-objects --all` needs extra 96MB memory even if the
layer feature is not used.

Helped-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Helped-by: Duy Nguyen <pclouds@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Christian Couder <chriscool@tuxfamily.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/pack-objects.c
delta-islands.c
pack-objects.c
pack-objects.h