diff-tree: read the index so attribute checks work in bare repositories
authorBrandon Williams <bmwill@google.com>
Wed, 6 Dec 2017 22:02:56 +0000 (14:02 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 6 Dec 2017 22:49:18 +0000 (14:49 -0800)
commitfd66bcc31ff294cdeaa3e960a3aa7fee619ec3b8
treeed749282b4966ecb3b063b4294cf311ebccf3e82
parent557a5998df19faf8641acfc5b6b1c3c2ba64dca9
diff-tree: read the index so attribute checks work in bare repositories

A regression was introduced in 557a5998d (submodule: remove
gitmodules_config, 2017-08-03) to how attribute processing was handled
in bare repositories when running the diff-tree command.

By default the attribute system will first try to read ".gitattribute"
files from the working tree and then falls back to reading them from the
index if there isn't a copy checked out in the worktree.  Prior to
557a5998d the index was read as a side effect of the call to
'gitmodules_config()' which ensured that the index was already populated
before entering the attribute subsystem.

Since the call to 'gitmodules_config()' was removed the index is no
longer being read so when the attribute system tries to read from the
in-memory index it doesn't find any ".gitattribute" entries effectively
ignoring any configured attributes.

Fix this by explicitly reading the index during the setup of diff-tree.

Reported-by: Ben Boeckel <ben.boeckel@kitware.com>
Signed-off-by: Brandon Williams <bmwill@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/diff-tree.c
t/t4015-diff-whitespace.sh