diff: teach diff to display submodule difference with an inline diff
authorJacob Keller <jacob.keller@gmail.com>
Wed, 31 Aug 2016 23:27:25 +0000 (16:27 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 1 Sep 2016 01:07:10 +0000 (18:07 -0700)
commitfd47ae6a5b9cc0cfc56c1f7c43db612d26ca4b75
tree87f05e2e08d728def4944fdd4914b7c9001583f9
parent8e6df65015f9a947d9ccca8950c2d60a4600cba2
diff: teach diff to display submodule difference with an inline diff

Teach git-diff and friends a new format for displaying the difference
of a submodule. The new format is an inline diff of the contents of the
submodule between the commit range of the update. This allows the user
to see the actual code change caused by a submodule update.

Add tests for the new format and option.

Signed-off-by: Jacob Keller <jacob.keller@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/diff-config.txt
Documentation/diff-options.txt
diff.c
diff.h
submodule.c
submodule.h
t/t4060-diff-submodule-option-diff-format.sh [new file with mode: 0755]