tag: die when listing missing or corrupt objects
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Mon, 6 Feb 2012 08:13:42 +0000 (03:13 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 6 Feb 2012 18:00:51 +0000 (10:00 -0800)
commitfb630e048c6efabe4d46b1b125fe7348062d38e6
tree1034df77904ed92fd9d0049f9eeec6de08324c2c
parentca51699961664890fdaabd276af539e6b3514053
tag: die when listing missing or corrupt objects

We don't usually bother looking at tagged objects at all
when listing. However, if "-n" is specified, we open the
objects to read the annotations of the tags.  If we fail to
read an object, or if the object has zero length, we simply
silently return.

The first case is an indication of a broken or corrupt repo,
and we should notify the user of the error.

The second case is OK to silently ignore; however, the
existing code leaked the buffer returned by read_sha1_file.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/tag.c