branch --set-upstream: regression fix
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 16 Sep 2011 23:28:38 +0000 (16:28 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 17 Sep 2011 04:47:47 +0000 (21:47 -0700)
commitfa79937675600ad5dda5031c532097a0461d843e
tree9925448c72df68baeba5ea5585daa212ad34b16d
parent587a9ee7da348f5e6696720d770d0e0da597827c
branch --set-upstream: regression fix

The "git branch" command, while not in listing mode, calls create_branch()
even when the target branch already exists, and it does so even when it is
not interested in updating the value of the branch (i.e. the name of the
commit object that sits at the tip of the existing branch). This happens
when the command is run with "--set-upstream" option.

The earlier safety-measure to prevent "git branch -f $branch $commit" from
updating the currently checked out branch did not take it into account,
and we no longer can update the tracking information of the current branch.

Minimally fix this regression by telling the validation code if it is
called to really update the value of a potentially existing branch, or if
the caller merely is interested in updating auxiliary aspects of a branch.

Reported-and-Tested-by: Jay Soffian
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
branch.c
branch.h
builtin/branch.c
builtin/checkout.c
t/t3200-branch.sh