git-send-email.perl: Fixed sending of many/huge changes/patches
authorStefan Agner <stefan@agner.ch>
Wed, 30 Sep 2015 07:26:09 +0000 (09:26 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 30 Sep 2015 19:44:41 +0000 (12:44 -0700)
commitf60c483d1d135a1f5f7c6067198a6207f1e59dc6
tree9e02d61e72973919ce8e0c5348b745a128188d3f
parent441c4a40173fe1ee8a5c0094e587dfc47e2a6460
git-send-email.perl: Fixed sending of many/huge changes/patches

Sometimes sending huge patches/commits fail with

[Net::SMTP::SSL] Connection closed at /usr/lib/git-core/git-send-email
line 1320.

Running the command with --smtp-debug=1 yields to

Net::SMTP::SSL: Net::Cmd::datasend(): unexpected EOF on command channel:
at /usr/lib/git-core/git-send-email line 1320.
[Net::SMTP::SSL] Connection closed at /usr/lib/git-core/git-send-email
line 1320.

Stefan described it in his mail like this:

It seems to me that there is a size limit, after cutting down the patch
to ~16K, sending started to work. I cut it twice, once by removing lines
from the head and once from the bottom, in both cases at the size of
around 16K I could send the patch.

See also original report:
http://permalink.gmane.org/gmane.comp.version-control.git/274569

Reported-by: Juston Li <juston.h.li@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Markos Chandras <hwoarang@gentoo.org>
Signed-off-by: Lars Wendler <polynomial-c@gentoo.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-send-email.perl