Makefile: detect errors in running spatch
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Fri, 10 Mar 2017 08:31:18 +0000 (03:31 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 29 Mar 2017 16:07:12 +0000 (09:07 -0700)
commitf5c2bc2b9699d9333e7e73c68db4ee266c24f9cf
tree1c30aafdf24f1efcca854dba0108d53efad7bff0
parent3b9e3c2cede15057af3ff8076c45ad5f33829436
Makefile: detect errors in running spatch

The "make coccicheck" target runs spatch against each source
file. But it does so in a for loop, so "make" never sees the
exit code of spatch. Worse, it redirects stderr to a log
file, so the user has no indication of any failure. And then
to top it all off, because we touched the patch file's
mtime, make will refuse to repeat the command because it
think the target is up-to-date.

So for example:

  $ make coccicheck SPATCH=does-not-exist
      SPATCH contrib/coccinelle/free.cocci
      SPATCH contrib/coccinelle/qsort.cocci
      SPATCH contrib/coccinelle/xstrdup_or_null.cocci
      SPATCH contrib/coccinelle/swap.cocci
      SPATCH contrib/coccinelle/strbuf.cocci
      SPATCH contrib/coccinelle/object_id.cocci
      SPATCH contrib/coccinelle/array.cocci
  $ make coccicheck SPATCH=does-not-exist
  make: Nothing to be done for 'coccicheck'.

With this patch, you get:

  $ make coccicheck SPATCH=does-not-exist
       SPATCH contrib/coccinelle/free.cocci
  /bin/sh: 4: does-not-exist: not found
  Makefile:2338: recipe for target 'contrib/coccinelle/free.cocci.patch' failed
  make: *** [contrib/coccinelle/free.cocci.patch] Error 1

It also dumps the log on failure, so any errors from spatch
itself (like syntax errors in our .cocci files) will be seen
by the user.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Makefile