tag: advise on nested tags
authorDenton Liu <liu.denton@gmail.com>
Thu, 4 Apr 2019 18:25:15 +0000 (11:25 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 12 Apr 2019 01:52:35 +0000 (10:52 +0900)
commiteea9c1e78ffd878cbaaf2c1e346e186a1e58a460
treeec87c56eb606225be5ccfb62d0982f591a521a09
parent01dc801adad35d4e2f815dc1918dad057631bc0e
tag: advise on nested tags

Robert Dailey reported confusion on the mailing list about a nested
tag which was most likely created by mistake. Jeff King noted that
this isn't a very common case and creating a tag-to-a-tag can be a
user-error.

Suggest that it may be a mistake with an advice message when
creating such a tag.  Those who do want to create a tag that point
at another tag regularly can turn it off with the usual advice
mechanism.

Reported-by: Robert Dailey <rcdailey.lists@gmail.com>
Helped-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Helped-by: Ævar Arnfjörð Bjarmason <avarab@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Denton Liu <liu.denton@gmail.com>
[jc: fixed test style and tweaked the log message]
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/config/advice.txt
advice.c
advice.h
builtin/tag.c
t/t7004-tag.sh