parse-options: multi-word argh should use dash to separate words
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 23 Mar 2014 22:58:12 +0000 (15:58 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 24 Mar 2014 17:43:34 +0000 (10:43 -0700)
commite703d7118c68bb5b1f850dae4060609a88500b18
tree930af71c9cd0b2e0efc558bd760d6992e58414b2
parentce7f8745aa773dfe2fc0a1b8c327b50c7ce4a31e
parse-options: multi-word argh should use dash to separate words

"When you need to use space, use dash" is a strange way to say that
you must not use a space.  Because it is more common for the command
line descriptions to use dashed-multi-words, you do not even want to
use spaces in these places.  Rephrase the documentation to avoid
this strangeness.

Fix a few existing multi-word argument help strings, i.e.

 - GPG key-ids given to -S/--gpg-sign are "key-id";
 - Refs used for storing notes are "notes-ref"; and
 - Expiry timestamps given to --expire are "expiry-date".

and update the corresponding documentation pages.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
13 files changed:
Documentation/git-cherry-pick.txt
Documentation/git-commit.txt
Documentation/git-merge.txt
Documentation/git-notes.txt
Documentation/git-rev-parse.txt
Documentation/git-revert.txt
builtin/checkout.c
builtin/commit.c
builtin/merge.c
builtin/notes.c
builtin/revert.c
builtin/tag.c
parse-options.h