prompt: respect GIT_TERMINAL_PROMPT to disable terminal prompts
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Thu, 4 Dec 2014 03:52:29 +0000 (22:52 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 4 Dec 2014 18:22:42 +0000 (10:22 -0800)
commite652c0eb5d772076f92245c7e076bf6aaf6af223
tree2ba5c9483f0d1f1f45a35bb038b02d9e0e5c1590
parent59b386526a6cdd0289cdf35dd8038ae1bdfd630f
prompt: respect GIT_TERMINAL_PROMPT to disable terminal prompts

If you run git as part of an automated system, you might
prefer git to die rather than try to issue a prompt on the
terminal (because there would be nobody to see it and
respond, and the process would hang forever).

This usually works out of the box because getpass() (and our
more featureful replacements) will fail when there is no
tty, but this does not cover all cases. For example, a batch
system run via ssh might have a tty, even when the user does
not expect it.

Let's provide an environment variable the user can set to
avoid even trying to touch the tty at all.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git.txt
prompt.c