help: add help_unknown_ref()
authorVikrant Varma <vikrant.varma94@gmail.com>
Sat, 4 May 2013 00:04:19 +0000 (05:34 +0530)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 8 May 2013 22:31:54 +0000 (15:31 -0700)
commite56181060e1117d458b854c34e63206117dab8b6
tree8251763d9b8200bf2232d8d611af2da31f3e12f0
parent9b795193a6a7e963db62d9cd8e86752a40940520
help: add help_unknown_ref()

When the user gives an unknown string to a command that expects to
get a ref, we could be more helpful than just saying "that's not a
ref" and die.

Add helper function help_unknown_ref() to take care of displaying an
error message along with a list of suggested refs the user might
have meant.  An interaction with "git merge" might go like this:

$ git merge foo
merge: foo - not something we can merge

Did you mean one of these?
    origin/foo
    upstream/foo

Signed-off-by: Vikrant Varma <vikrant.varma94@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
help.c
help.h