t3301: fix false negative
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Tue, 9 Apr 2019 10:41:23 +0000 (03:41 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 9 Apr 2019 11:10:35 +0000 (20:10 +0900)
commitdbe7b4101927ad0d45a12b92163626900fce5173
treee6ca325cc5c526a1068edfeb155db28e82388bc6
parentaeb582a98374c094361cba1bd756dc6307432c42
t3301: fix false negative

In 6956f858f6 (notes: implement helpers needed for note copying during
rewrite, 2010-03-12), we introduced a test case that verifies that the
config setting `notes.rewriteRef` can be overridden via the environment
variable `GIT_NOTES_REWRITE_REF`.

Back when it was introduced, it relied on a side effect of an earlier
test case that configured `core.noteRef` to point to `refs/notes/other`.

In 908a320363 (t3301: modernize style, 2014-11-12), this side effect was
removed.

The test case *still* passed, but for the wrong reason: we no longer
overrode the rewrite ref, but there simply was nothing to rewrite
anymore, as the overridden notes ref was "modernized" away.

Let's let that test case pass for the correct reason again.

To make sure of that, let's change the idea of the original test case:
it configured `notes.rewriteRef` to point to the actual notes ref,
forced that to be ignored and then verified that the notes were *not*
rewritten.

By turning that idea upside down (configure the `notes.rewriteRef` to
another notes ref, override it via the environment variable to force the
notes to be copied, and then verify that the notes *were* rewritten), we
make it much harder for that test case to pass for the wrong reason.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t3301-notes.sh