log: handle broken HEAD in decoration check
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Thu, 19 Oct 2017 17:49:01 +0000 (13:49 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sat, 21 Oct 2017 12:29:37 +0000 (21:29 +0900)
commitd79be4983bdf6598f106710a4826752a96f5dd58
tree9ec7aaa5ff5ab93b5d32c6ecdcffbbad58df4191
parent752848df0f18a9f8eb808a5b54c862c176d86e6d
log: handle broken HEAD in decoration check

The resolve_ref_unsafe() function may return NULL even with
a REF_ISSYMREF flag if a symref points to a broken ref. As a
result, it's possible for the decoration code's "is this
branch the current HEAD" check to segfault when it passes
the NULL to starts_with().

This is unlikely in practice, since we can only reach this
code if we already resolved HEAD to a matching sha1 earlier.
But it's possible if HEAD racily becomes broken, or if
there's a transient filesystem error.

We can fix this by returning early in the broken case, since
NULL could not possibly match any of our branch names.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
log-tree.c