Allow users to un-configure rename detection
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 9 Apr 2009 18:46:15 +0000 (11:46 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 12 Apr 2009 05:22:00 +0000 (22:22 -0700)
commitcced5fbc241f1274ba532040b985f38c15bbf555
tree13f2d1b14d233388c19033b6b809942b6f110921
parent519d05be9015871e422cd16ebced620cb01f8b3c
Allow users to un-configure rename detection

I told people on the kernel mailing list to please use "-M" when sending
me rename patches, so that I can see what they do while reading email
rather than having to apply the patch and then look at the end result.

I also told them that if they want to make it the default, they can just
add

[diff]
renames

to their ~/.gitconfig file. And while I was thinking about that, I wanted
to also check whether you can then mark individual projects to _not_ have
that default in the per-repository .git/config file.

And you can't. Currently you cannot have a global "enable renames by
default" and then a local ".. but not for _this_ project". Why? Because if
somebody writes

[diff]
renames = no

we simply ignore it, rather than resetting "diff_detect_rename_default"
back to zero.

Fixed thusly.

Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
diff.c