diff/status: refactor opportunistic index update
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 21 Mar 2011 17:16:10 +0000 (10:16 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 21 Mar 2011 19:43:10 +0000 (12:43 -0700)
commitccdc4ec3044bd108ae1e20d772f078c10df114b3
tree54b78634ed72b83854ff5d9564a76ec6020e7d73
parent87b50542a08ac6caa083ddc376e674424e37940a
diff/status: refactor opportunistic index update

When we had to refresh the index internally before running diff or status,
we opportunistically updated the $GIT_INDEX_FILE so that later invocation
of git can use the lstat(2) we already did in this invocation.

Make them share a helper function to do so.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/commit.c
builtin/diff.c
cache.h
read-cache.c