convert hashmap comparison functions to oideq()
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 28 Aug 2018 21:22:55 +0000 (17:22 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 29 Aug 2018 18:32:49 +0000 (11:32 -0700)
commitcc00e5ce6b50cf4197e137b87a33209568b1e662
tree9916928816a1c27728736f4702e7371e7add0fcd
parent67947c34ae8f666e72b9406a38984fe8386f5e50
convert hashmap comparison functions to oideq()

The comparison functions used for hashmaps don't care about
strict ordering; they only want to compare entries for
equality. Let's use the oideq() function instead, which can
potentially be better optimized. Note that unlike the
previous patches mass-converting calls like "!oidcmp()",
this patch could actually provide an improvement even with
the current implementation. Those comparison functions are
passed around as function pointers, so at compile-time the
compiler cannot realize that the caller (which is in another
file completely) will treat the return value as a boolean.

Note that this does change the return values in quite a
subtle way (it's still an int, but now the sign bit is
irrelevant for ordering). Because of their funny
hashmap-specific signature, it's unlikely that any of these
static functions would be reused for more generic ordering.
But to be double-sure, let's stop using "cmp" in their
names.

Calling them "eq" doesn't quite work either, because the
hashmap convention is actually _inverted_. "0" means "same",
and non-zero means "different". So I've called them "neq" by
convention here.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/describe.c
oidmap.c
patch-ids.c