diff_filespec: use only 2 bits for is_binary flag
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Fri, 17 Jan 2014 01:25:40 +0000 (20:25 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 17 Jan 2014 18:50:14 +0000 (10:50 -0800)
commitcbfe47b67fc1072998c73e6d43cf6ad061a436f5
tree6f1a19e2f892c7539214a399f1849b8e48c84893
parentb38f70a82b9628d80f5a9bc938a8861ee4dcf49e
diff_filespec: use only 2 bits for is_binary flag

The is_binary flag needs only three values: -1, 0, and 1.
However, we use a whole 32-bit int for it on most systems
(both 32- and 64- bit).

Instead, we can mark it to use only 2 bits. On 32-bit
systems, this lets it end up as part of the bitfield above
(saving 4 bytes). On 64-bit systems, we don't see any change
(because the savings end up as padding), but it does leave
room for another "free" 32-bit value to be added later.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
diffcore.h