submodule init: redirect stdout to stderr
authorStefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Mon, 2 May 2016 22:24:04 +0000 (15:24 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 3 May 2016 16:39:45 +0000 (09:39 -0700)
commitc66410ed32a807cefca6f679ad5583eda2e9527b
tree9cd7447cf882b34519bf4a4c8f59d0f833fc294d
parent08fdbdb153c138f0a2dc85949475fafb20853d96
submodule init: redirect stdout to stderr

Reroute the output of stdout to stderr as it is just informative
messages, not to be consumed by machines.

This should not regress any scripts that try to parse the
current output, as the output is already internationalized
and therefore unstable.

We want to init submodules from the helper for `submodule update`
in a later patch and the stdout output of said helper is consumed
by the parts of `submodule update` which are still written in shell.
So we have to be careful which messages are on stdout.

Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/submodule--helper.c
t/t7406-submodule-update.sh