diff: don't presume empty file when corresponding object is missing
authorNicolas Pitre <nico@fluxnic.net>
Fri, 22 Oct 2010 04:02:27 +0000 (00:02 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 22 Oct 2010 05:23:34 +0000 (22:23 -0700)
commitc50c4316e1eed362bee387e4cbfbe1138957f75b
treee35756783e663a7e51bdf6599372df4284e08056
parente923eaeb901ff056421b9007adcbbce271caa7b6
diff: don't presume empty file when corresponding object is missing

The low-level diff code will happily produce totally bogus diff output
with a broken repository via format-patch and friends by treating missing
objects as empty files.  Let's prevent that from happening any longer.

Reported-by: Uwe Kleine-K├Ânig <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@fluxnic.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
diff.c