bisect: visualize with git-log if gitk is unavailable
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Mon, 21 Mar 2011 13:14:22 +0000 (09:14 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 21 Mar 2011 17:23:45 +0000 (10:23 -0700)
commitc4e4644e17e0fad4a6ffedba22b739cf1b1ac3fc
tree05d3b828981663e8aeb13c537d638aee88ac350f
parentd98f24cd9d8d8ee20b65d22ec6b78da04b48de85
bisect: visualize with git-log if gitk is unavailable

If gitk is not available in the PATH, bisect ends up
exiting with the shell's 127 error code, confusing the git
wrapper into thinking that bisect is not a git command.

We already fallback to git-log if there doesn't seem to be a
graphical display available. We should do the same if gitk
is not available in our PATH at all. This not only fixes the
ugly error message, but is a much more sensible default than
failing to show the user anything.

Reported by Maxin John.

Tested-by: Maxin B. John <maxin@maxinbjohn.info>
Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-bisect.sh