pkt-line: introduce struct packet_writer
authorJonathan Tan <jonathantanmy@google.com>
Tue, 15 Jan 2019 19:40:27 +0000 (11:40 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 15 Jan 2019 19:44:48 +0000 (11:44 -0800)
commitbc2e795cea607e444a9f985b0dbed5a4d25921c8
tree3d155b6f225082f2565e64a464b4f3df22c405f9
parent17069c7fae20f5e3082ee639066a37de5af6030e
pkt-line: introduce struct packet_writer

A future patch will allow the client to request multiplexing of the
entire fetch response (and not only during packfile transmission), which
in turn allows the server to send progress and keepalive messages at any
time during the response.

It will be convenient for a future patch if writing options
(specifically, whether the written data is to be multiplexed) could be
controlled from a single place, so create struct packet_writer to serve
as that place, and modify upload-pack to use it.

Currently, it only stores the output fd, but a subsequent patch will (as
described above) introduce an option to determine if the written data is
to be multiplexed.

Signed-off-by: Jonathan Tan <jonathantanmy@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
pkt-line.c
pkt-line.h
upload-pack.c