Documentation/git-clone: improve description for submodule recursing
authorStefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Tue, 5 Dec 2017 02:53:32 +0000 (18:53 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 5 Dec 2017 19:30:38 +0000 (11:30 -0800)
commitbc29b0b9710322ea966a685903e4334a61931fc5
tree43870d66a7bac549d2be1c548010ccbb4184abf7
parent1a4e40aa5dc16564af879142ba9dfbbb88d1e5ff
Documentation/git-clone: improve description for submodule recursing

There have been a few complaints on the mailing list that git-clone doesn't
respect the `submodule.recurse` setting, which every other command (that
potentially knows how to deal with submodules) respects.  In case of clone
this is not beneficial to respect as the user may not want to obtain all
submodules (assuming a pathspec of '.').

Improve the documentation such that the pathspec is mentioned in the
synopsis to alleviate the confusion around the submodule recursion flag
in git-clone.

While at it clarify that the option can be given multiple times for complex
pathspecs.

Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <sbeller@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-clone.txt