use get_commit_buffer to avoid duplicate code
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 10 Jun 2014 21:41:02 +0000 (17:41 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 13 Jun 2014 19:08:17 +0000 (12:08 -0700)
commitba41c1c93fd9109eae954f75a8cb8e32c3e29530
treed4d5e92c25847777b54aabebeaf5cd6b6806b19f
parenta97934d8205772ffd2a528a9e970af7dec725012
use get_commit_buffer to avoid duplicate code

For both of these sites, we already do the "fallback to
read_sha1_file" trick. But we can shorten the code by just
using get_commit_buffer.

Note that the error cases are slightly different when
read_sha1_file fails. get_commit_buffer will die() if the
object cannot be loaded, or is a non-commit.

For get_sha1_oneline, this will almost certainly never
happen, as we will have just called parse_object (and if it
does, it's probably worth complaining about).

For record_author_date, the new behavior is probably better;
we notify the user of the error instead of silently ignoring
it. And because it's used only for sorting by author-date,
somebody examining a corrupt repo can fallback to the
regular traversal order.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
commit.c
sha1_name.c