clone: report duplicate entries on case-insensitive filesystems
authorDuy Nguyen <pclouds@gmail.com>
Fri, 17 Aug 2018 18:00:39 +0000 (20:00 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 17 Aug 2018 19:10:37 +0000 (12:10 -0700)
commitb878579ae755e3a9d200093ced59ada3eaafb08c
treed7138412cf388250032989b8d76a7a643011773d
parentffc6fa0e396238de3a30623912980263b4f283ab
clone: report duplicate entries on case-insensitive filesystems

Paths that only differ in case work fine in a case-sensitive
filesystems, but if those repos are cloned in a case-insensitive one,
you'll get problems. The first thing to notice is "git status" will
never be clean with no indication what exactly is "dirty".

This patch helps the situation a bit by pointing out the problem at
clone time. Even though this patch talks about case sensitivity, the
patch makes no assumption about folding rules by the filesystem. It
simply observes that if an entry has been already checked out at clone
time when we're about to write a new path, some folding rules are
behind this.

In the case that we can't rely on filesystem (via inode number) to do
this check, fall back to fspathcmp() which is not perfect but should
not give false positives.

This patch is tested with vim-colorschemes and Sublime-Gitignore
repositories on a JFS partition with case insensitive support on
Linux.

Signed-off-by: Nguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/clone.c
cache.h
entry.c
t/t5601-clone.sh
unpack-trees.c
unpack-trees.h