request-pull: use the real fork point when preparing the message
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 11 Jan 2012 05:45:52 +0000 (21:45 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 11 Jan 2012 05:51:15 +0000 (21:51 -0800)
commitb7e642ecec4347b170d206c84850ae0a46b5f46e
tree068eeecf10edf5b742d1c352c84d527d54690682
parentf032d66ddb0cc81807be14c6a9052367df6d1cbc
request-pull: use the real fork point when preparing the message

The command takes the "start" argument and computes the merge base
between it and the commit to be pulled so that we can show the diffstat,
but uses the "start" argument as-is when composing the message

    The following changes since commit $X are available

to tell the integrator which commit the work is based on. Giving "origin"
(most of the time it resolves to refs/remotes/origin/master) as the start
argument is often convenient, but it is usually not the fork point, and
does not help the integrator at all.

Use the real fork point, which is the merge base we already compute, when
composing that part of the message.

Suggested-by: Linus Torvalds
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-request-pull.sh