packfile: correct zlib buffer handling
authorJeremy Linton <lintonrjeremy@gmail.com>
Wed, 13 Jun 2018 14:22:07 +0000 (09:22 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 13 Jun 2018 18:34:27 +0000 (11:34 -0700)
commitb611396e97cba09c7e1cf900190cf1a9e922546e
tree8bdebcc0ae44968876d6bfa8381508d124213d3e
parenta42a58d7b62cc1d6301440e81a83feed9d7c118c
packfile: correct zlib buffer handling

The buffer being passed to zlib includes a NUL terminator that git
needs to keep in place. unpack_compressed_entry() attempts to detect
the case that the source buffer hasn't been fully consumed by
checking to see if the destination buffer has been over consumed.

This causes a problem, that more recent zlib patches have been
poisoning the unconsumed portions of the buffer which overwrites
the NUL byte, while correctly returning length and status.

Let's place the NUL at the end of the buffer after inflate returns
to assure that it doesn't result in problems for git even if its
been overwritten by zlib.

Signed-off-by: Jeremy Linton <lintonrjeremy@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
packfile.c