Documentation: clarify effects of -- <path> arguments origin/maint
authorThomas Rast <trast@student.ethz.ch>
Tue, 30 Aug 2011 09:21:07 +0000 (11:21 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 30 Aug 2011 17:05:21 +0000 (10:05 -0700)
commitb15b5b10a75e202f3f90e000925545243267cbee
tree0b018020c1dd468585240ca098362a4b67326b7f
parentcd2b8ae983a277fb3f3c2b2c6747b0a075af1421
Documentation: clarify effects of -- <path> arguments

'git log -- <path>' does not "show commits that affect the specified
paths" in a literal sense unless --full-history is given (for example,
a file that only existed on a side branch will turn up no commits at
all!).

Reword it to specify the actual intent of the filtering, and point to
the "History Simplification" section.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Rast <trast@student.ethz.ch>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-log.txt