Add generic 'strbuf_readlink()' helper function
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 17 Dec 2008 17:36:40 +0000 (09:36 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 17 Dec 2008 21:36:30 +0000 (13:36 -0800)
commitb11b7e13f48ee283738e21fea9f775cd40ca0562
treef1c1a1a271f018865e1b95b5885cb71520da13a8
parent53682f0c9e7545c6fa891896a5de4ad441a76147
Add generic 'strbuf_readlink()' helper function

It was already what 'git apply' did in read_old_data(), just export it
as a real function, and make it be more generic.

In particular, this handles the case of the lstat() st_size data not
matching the readlink() return value properly (which apparently happens
at least on NTFS under Linux).  But as a result of this you could also
use the new function without even knowing how big the link is going to
be, and it will allocate an appropriately sized buffer.

So we pass in the st_size of the link as just a hint, rather than a
fixed requirement.

Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin-apply.c
strbuf.c
strbuf.h