check-builtins.sh: use the $(...) construct for command substitution
authorElia Pinto <gitter.spiros@gmail.com>
Tue, 25 Mar 2014 17:22:22 +0000 (10:22 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:42:52 +0000 (13:42 -0700)
commitb09d8552bd04b17c20f89b73e09206719f9e7b84
tree57e1d55295470a7fa2c69084c5cb1f25ad2f6f66
parentd393d140b5656e608b332c00ea3b14f9a060d604
check-builtins.sh: use the $(...) construct for command substitution

The Git CodingGuidelines prefer the $(...) construct for command
substitution instead of using the backquotes `...`.

The backquoted form is the traditional method for command
substitution, and is supported by POSIX.  However, all but the
simplest uses become complicated quickly.  In particular, embedded
command substitutions and/or the use of double quotes require
careful escaping with the backslash character.

The patch was generated by:

    for _f in $(find . -name "*.sh")
    do
      sed -i 's@`\(.*\)`@$(\1)@g' ${_f}
    done

and then carefully proof-read.

Signed-off-by: Elia Pinto <gitter.spiros@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
check-builtins.sh